THIRTY-FOURTH ANNUAL CONVENTION of COOPERATIVE EDUCATIONAL SERVICE AGENCY NO. 9 STATE OF WISCONSIN CESA #9 OFFICE TOMAHAWK, WISCONSIN MONDAY, AUGUST 7, 2017

MINUTES

7:00 P.M.

Andy Merry, Chair of the Board of Control, called the Thirty-fourth Annual Convention of Cooperative Educational Service Agency No. 9 to order and led the delegates and guests in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Chair Merry indicated that the CESA 9 Administrator, Karen Wendorf-Heldt, would serve as the secretary of the Convention. Merry then read the official Convention Notice to those present.

A roll call and certification of representative changes was the next order of business. The roll call read as follows:

Antigo	Andy Merry	Present
Arbor Vitae Woodruff	Randy Quade	Present
Athens	Shannon Peel	Present
DC Everest	Helen Ackermann	Present
Edgar	Tess Kaiser	Present
Elcho	Ann Mas	Present
Lac du Flambeau	Melissa Doud	Absent
Lakeland Union HS	Emily Hallstrom	Present
Marathon	Beth Seubert	Present
Merrill	Maria Volpe	Absent
Minocqua-Hazelhurst-Lake Tomahawk	Tracy Petrie	Absent
Mosinee	Michael Kaiser	Present
North Lakeland	Kari Moon	Present
Northland Pines	Chris Petreikis	Present
Phelps	Ron Buell	Absent
Prentice	Helen Palmquist	Present
Rhinelander	Duane Frey	Present
Rib Lake	Jason Dananay	Absent
Stratford	Dan Thompson	Present
Three Lakes	Tom Rulseh	Present
Tomahawk	Tyler Stevenson	Present
Wausau	Theresa Miles	Present

Dr. Heldt introduced CESA 9 staff in attendance (Hilary Cordova, Dawn Nordine, Jenny Miner, Peggy Francour).

The Lakeland Area delegates that were present met briefly to determine a voting delegate from the group. Randy Quade (AVW) served as the voting delegate.

Motion by Tom Rulseh, second by Helen Ackermann to adopt the Robert's Rules of Order for the Convention. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

The August 1, 2016 Annual Convention minutes were presented. A motion was made by Dan Thompson and seconded by Duane Frey to accept the minutes as presented. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

Election of Board of Control members was the next order of business. The election plan was reviewed and vacancies for the various class seats on the Board of Control were announced. Dr. Heldt stated that there were four seats available (one Small, one Medium, one Large and one At Large).

Those eligible for the Small seat were asked to indicate their desire to remain on the ballot or decline. Declining: Tess Kaiser, Ann Mas. Ron Buell was not present and therefore removed from the ballot. Remaining on the ballot: Helen Palmquist. Tyler Stevenson made a motion to cast a unanimous ballot for Helen Palmquist to represent the Small category. Motion was seconded by Chris Petreikis. All delegates present voted aye. Motion carried.

Those eligible for the Medium seat were asked to indicate their desire to remain on the ballot or decline. Declining: Beth Seubert, Michael Kaiser. Remaining on the ballot: Tyler Stevenson. Randy Quade made a motion to cast a unanimous ballot for Tyler Stevenson to represent the Medium category. Motion was seconded by Dan Thompson. All delegates present voted aye. Motion carried.

Those eligible for the Large seat were asked to indicate their desire to remain on the ballot or decline. Declining: Randy Quade, Emily Hallstrom, Kari Moon. Melissa Doud, Tracy Petrie and Maria Volpe were not present. Remaining on the ballot: Helen Ackermsnn. Motion by Duane Frey to cast a unanimous ballot for Helen Ackermann. Second by Theresa Miles. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

Those eligible for the At-Large seat were asked to indicate their desire to remain on the ballot or decline. Declining: Randy Quade, Emily Hallstrom, Kari Moon, Helen Ackermann, Tess Kaiser, Ann Mas, Beth Seubert, Michael Kaiser, Helen Palmquist, Tyler Stevenson. Melissa Doud, Tracy Petrie, Ron Buell and Maria Volpe were not present. Remaining on the ballot: Duane Frey. Motion by Tom Rulseh to cast a unanimous ballot for Duane Frey. Second by Helen Palmquist. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

The 2017 - 2018 Board of Control members are:

Board Member	<u>District</u>	<u>Class</u>	Term Expires
Chris Petreikis	Northland Pines	At-Large	2018
Andy Merry	Antigo	Large	2018
Shannon Peel	Athens	Small	2018
Jason Dananay	Rib Lake	Small	2019
Dan Thompson	Stratford	Medium	2019
Theresa Miles	Wausau	Large	2019
Tom Rulseh	Three Lakes	Medium	2019
Helen Ackermann	D.C. Everest	Large	2020
Tyler Stevenson	Tomahawk	Medium	2020
Helen Palmquist	Prentice	Small	2020
Duane Frey	Rhinelander	At-Large	2020

Agency Administrator Karen Wendorf-Heldt presented data highlights from the 2016-17 Annual Report including the District Services Survey results, CESA 9 Organizational Scorecard, Employee Engagement Survey results and workshop participation data. Dr. Heldt also shared what's ahead in the agency's quest for continuous quality improvement.

Convention Chair Merry thanked the delegates and stated that the CESA 9 Organizational Meeting would begin after the conclusion of the Annual Convention.

Motion by Duane Frey, second by Dan Thompson to adjourn the Annual Convention. All aye. Motion carried. The meeting was adjourned.